Whether you’re a newly minted driver or a seasoned motorist in the Lone Star State, you probably have a good grasp on the laws that govern the road. Several simple examples are: driving on the right side of the road, obeying set speed limits, maintaining a valid driver’s license and of course, obtaining [Texas auto insurance](https://coverhound.com/insurance-learning-center/car-insurance-texas).
This state law makes perfect sense – in the event of a car accident, auto insurance covers injuries sustained to you, the other driver, any passengers and/ or property damage. Those who decide to tempt fate and drive uninsured face a fine of up to $1,000 and a possible annual surcharge. The moral of the story here? Auto insurance provides a small win in an otherwise less than stellar situation. These all seem logical, but, there are some truly bizarre laws that make you wonder how they ever got on the books!
Let’s check ‘em out below.
**Strange Texas Driving Law #1**
− It is illegal to have anything protrude from your bumper unless it is attached with a chain.
We know, we know, it takes a moment to process this one. How does something protrude from one’s bumper exactly? Isn’t the bumper itself protruding from the car? How many times will we have to say “protrude” to grasp this law? Oh well, see ya bumper stickers! Chains are the new “it” accessory.
**Strange Texas Driving Law #2**
− It is against state law to drive without windshield wipers. You may, however, drive without a windshield.
What’s that you say… you lost your windshield barreling down interstate 10? Not a problem. But lose your wiper and you’re headed for lockup or at the very least a ticket.
**Strange Texas Driving Law #3**
− It is illegal to have an open container in a car.
Yep. You read that right. The law books don’t specifically state an alcohol container just an open container. Thank goodness this law isn’t strictly enforced or there would be no more motorists in Texas.
**Strange Texas Driving Law #4**
− It’s against the law to [make a U-turn in Richardson](https://www.cor.net/index.aspx?page=208).
Need to change the direction you’re driving while staying on the same road? Too darn bad.
**Strange Texas Driving Law #5**
− It’s illegal in Galveston, Texas to [drive a car down Broadway before noon](http://www.theveteransvoice.com/laws--stupid-laws--and-lawmakers.html) on Sundays.
Have you ever thought to yourself as you were sitting down for your second meal of the day, “Those motorists speeding down Broadway are so disruptive,” No? Us either.
What is disruptive is a car crash. With possible medical bills, time off work, and lost wages, an accident can wreak havoc on your life. That’s why at CoverHound, we work tirelessly to make sure you have all the necessary auto insurance coverage you need.
*Texas Auto Insurance Minimums*
To comply with state law in Texas, auto insurance must meet the current minimum liability limits. These limits are as follows: $30,000 for each injured person; $60,000 for injuries per incident; $25,000 for property damage. Ready to take the next step? We’re here for you. [Start comparing rates](https://coverhound.com/auto-insurance) from top brands today!
Insurance shopping simplified
Insurance shopping simplified