Moving to Washington? You would either be really well prepared, or lost among all the matters that require your attention. At CoverHound, we know that moving out of state can be a hassle, so we have prepared for you some useful information about auto insurance in Washington.
A common misconception about auto insurance minimum coverage is that, it is the same for all states. That is not true. Auto insurance in Washington requires you to have a minimum liability coverage of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury and $10,000 for property damage to protect yourselves from lawsuits. It is a benefit to understand what are the changes to your minimum coverage when moving states.
SR22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR) - isn’t a type of car insurance, but a verification that you’re maintaining car insurance liability coverage. You would be required to possess a SR22 if you are caught driving without insurance, driving under influence (DUI), committing repeat traffic offenses or if you get too many tickets within a short period of time. At CoverHound, SR22 typically costs between $15-$25 in Washington.
It is also important to check if your current SR22 is valid in WA. It may be waived because you have met regulations enforced by the state that you were previously in, and an affidavit is most commonly required in order to get the waiver. However, you may also be required to receive a new SR22 based upon Washington’s financial responsibility laws.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage is optional in Washington, but it is advisable to consider getting the coverage to protect yourself in the event of an accident with an uninsured motorist. Accidents happen when you least expect it, but with the right coverage, you will be protected.
Other Useful Tips
When moving states, it is important to make sure that you are continuously insured. Cancel your auto insurance only after you have obtained new coverage in Washington. It is also important to ensure that your current auto insurance is valid in WA and most states have up to 90 days for you to register your vehicle.
If you have existing tickets, DUIs and claims in the last 5 years, it is important to be honest with the insurance agents when purchasing a new policy. Unfortunately, moving states does not grant you a clean slate as your driving history is tagged to you even after you have moved to Washington.
The complexity of the insurance industry can really be mind boggling, but at CoverHound, our dedicated agents are here to guide you through this process.