As a Virginian, have you ever wondered about your state’s laws? You likely have a few times, at least when you’ve had to get a new auto insurance policy. Driving laws aren’t set at the federal level, they’re set at the state, meaning that you’ve had to have looked up Virginia’s driving laws to understand how much auto insurance in Virginia you need to satisfy the state’s insurance laws.
Virginians are required to have bodily injury and property damage liability, along with uninsured and underinsured motorist protection. Demanding that motorists carry an auto insurance coverage plan makes sense: if you’re involved in an accident, the insurance policy will cover the cost of damages, even if you personally can’t afford to. Paying a $50 monthly premium compared to thousands of dollars in property damage seems like a fair trade off. Auto insurance laws in Virginia only work to help the community, but what about some of its other, stranger laws? Laws that no one really follows or should follow?
Strange Law 1: Virginian motorists cannot drive if they are not wearing shoes.
Strange law 2: Virginian motorists must honk their horns if they are attempting to pass another vehicle.
Strange Law 3: Police are not allowed to use speed radar detectors.
Strange Law 4: In Waynesboro, Virginia, it is illegal for a female motorist to drive her car along Main Street unless her husband is walking in front of the vehicle waving a red flag in his hands.
Strange Law 5: In Prince William County, Virginia, it is illegal for a motorist to park their vehicle on a set of railroad tracks.
Strange Law 6: In Virginia Beach, Virginia, it is illegal to drive by the same area within 30 minutes of Atlantic Avenue.
Now for a few laws that aren’t driving specific:
Strange Law 7: Children cannot trick-or-treat on Halloween.
Strange Law 8: In Richmond, Virginia, citizens cannot flip a coin in a dining establishment to see who gets to pay for coffee.
Strange Law 9: It is illegal to tickle women.
Strange Law 10: Virginians cannot hunt animals on Sundays, except for raccoons. Raccoons can be hunted until 2:00 a.m.
Strange Law 11: Virginians cannot spit on seagulls.
Strange Law 12: Virginian women are required by law to wear a corset after sunset if they are with a male chaperone.
Strange Law 13: It is illegal to curse at another person in town.
Strange Law 14: If a male fondles a woman’s bottom, he can be sent to jail for 60 days.
Every town has its own unique traits and quirks; Virginia isn’t any different. One law that definitely isn’t strange and needs to be followed is the state’s auto insurance law. Get your auto insurance Virginia quotes today when you visit CoverHound.